

List of 1-Acre and 10-Acre Municipalities Act 250

This is a list of Vermont municipalities separated into *10-acre municipalities* and *1-acre municipalities*.

10-acre municipalities have duly adopted permanent zoning and subdivision bylaws. In these municipalities, an Act 250 permit is required for developments on larger parcels and subdivisions, ¹ and more projects qualify for exemptions from Act 250 permitting.

1-acre municipalities do not have duly adopted permanent zoning and subdivision bylaws. In these municipalities, an Act 250 permit is required for developments on smaller parcels and subdivisions,² and fewer projects qualify for exemptions from Act 250 permitting. Some municipalities that have adopted permanent zoning and subdivision regulations have elected to remain *1-acre municipalities*. These municipalities are designated on the list with an asterisk.

Changes to this list:

The Board may update this list based on a written request and certification from a duly authorized municipal representative followed by a review by Act 250 staff. A duly authorized representative of the municipality may request a change to this list by sending an email to the Board's general email inbox (Act250.General@vermont.gov) with a completed Municipal Certification form.

Note: The Board may use the information on this list to make other determinations including, but not limited to, jurisdictional determinations. This list may also be modified by the Board as a result of a jurisdictional opinion. District coordinators, district commissions, and the Board will determine whether a municipality is a 1-acre or 10-acre municipality based on the latest information available at the time the determination is made; and therefore, such determinations might differ from the designations on the list.

VERMONT

Land Use Review Board https://act250.vermont.gov/

¹ In 10-acre municipalities, Act 250 permitting requirements apply to "Development" if located on a tract of land greater than 10 acres, and apply to "Subdivision" if the division creates 10 or more lots attributable to the same person in 5 years within 5 miles or within the same district. See 10 V.S.A. § 6001.

² In 1-acre municipalities, Act 250 permitting requirements apply to "Development" if located on a tract of land greater than 1 acre, and apply to "Subdivision" if the division creates 6 or more lots attributable to the same person in 5 years within 5 miles or within the same district. See 10 V.S.A. § 6001.

DISTRICT 1 - Rutland County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Benson*	Brandon
Chittenden	Castleton
Clarendon	Hubbardton
Danby	Mendon
Fair Haven	Pawlet
Ira	Poultney
Killington	Rutland City
Middletown Springs	Shrewsbury
Mt. Holly	Sudbury
Mt. Tabor	Tinmouth
Pittsford	Wallingford
Proctor	West Rutland
Rutland Town	
Wells	
West Haven	

TOTAL: 15 TOTAL: 12

DISTRICT 2 - Bennington County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Readsboro	Winhall
Searsburg	

TOTAL: 2 TOTAL: 1

DISTRICT 2 - Windham County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Athens	Brattleboro
Brookline	Marlboro
Dover	Newfane
Dummerston	Putney
Grafton	Rockingham
Guilford	Stratton
Halifax	Westminster
Jamaica	
Londonderry	
Somerset	
Townshend	
Vernon	
Wardsboro	
Whitingham	
Wilmington	
Windham	

TOTAL: 16 TOTAL: 7

DISTRICT 2 - Windsor County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Cavendish	Andover
Reading	Baltimore
	Chester
	Ludlow
	Springfield
	Weathersfield
	West Windsor
	Weston
	Windsor

TOTAL: 9

DISTRICT 3 - Rutland County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Pittsfield	

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 0

DISTRICT 3 - Windsor County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Bridgewater	Barnard
Hartland	Bethel
Plymouth	Hartford
Royalton	Norwich
Sharon	Pomfret
Woodstock	Rochester
	Stockbridge

TOTAL: 6 TOTAL: 7

DISTRICT 3 - Addison County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Granville	
Hancock	

TOTAL: 2 TOTAL: 0

DISTRICT 3 - Orange County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Chelsea	Braintree
Corinth	Bradford
Topsham	Brookfield
Tunbridge	Fairlee
West Fairlee	Newbury

Randolph
Strafford
Thetford
Vershire

TOTAL: 5 TOTAL: 9

DISTRICT 4 - Chittenden County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Buels Gore	Bolton
	Burlington
	Charlotte
	Colchester
	Essex
	Essex Junction
	Hinesburg
	Huntington
	Jericho
	Milton
	Richmond
	Shelburne
	South Burlington
	St. George
	Underhill
	Westford
	Williston
	Winooski

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 18

DISTRICT 5 - Orange County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Orange	
Washington	
Williamstown	

TOTAL: 0

DISTRICT 5 - Lamoille County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Belvidere	Elmore
Cambridge	Hyde Park
Eden	Morristown
Jeffersonville	Stowe
Johnson	Wolcott
Waterville	

TOTAL: 6 TOTAL: 5

DISTRICT 5 - Washington County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Cabot	Barre City
Duxbury	Barre Town
Moretown	Berlin
Roxbury	Calais
Woodbury	East Montpelier
Worcester	Fayston
	Marshfield
	Middlesex
	Montpelier
	Northfield
	Plainfield
	Waitsfield
	Warren
	Waterbury

TOTAL: 6 TOTAL: 14

DISTRICT 6 - Franklin County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Montgomery	Bakersfield
	Berkshire
	Enosburg
	Enosburg Falls
	Fairfax
	Fletcher
	Franklin
	Fairfield
	Georgia
	Highgate
	Richford
	Sheldon
	St. Albans City
	St. Albans Town
	Swanton Town/Village

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 15

DISTRICT 6 - Grand Isle County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Alburgh Town/Village	Grand Isle
Isle La Motte	North Hero
	South Hero

TOTALS: 2 TOTALS: 3

DISTRICT 7 - Orleans County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Albany	Derby
Barton	Jay
Brownington	Newport City
Charleston	
Coventry	
Craftsbury	
Glover	
Greensboro	
Holland	
Irasburg	
Lowell	
Morgan	
Newport Town	
North Troy Village	
Orleans Village	
Troy	
Westfield	
Westmore	

TOTAL: 18 TOTAL: 3

DISTRICT 7 - Caledonia County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Barnet	Burke
Danville	Hardwick
Groton	Lyndon
Kirby	St. Johnsbury
Newark	Sutton
Peacham	Waterford
Ryegate	
Sheffield	
Stannard	
Walden	
Wheelock	

TOTAL: 11 TOTAL: 6

DISTRICT 7 - Essex County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Averill	Maidstone
Avery's Gore	
Bloomfield	
Brighton	
Brunswick	
Canaan	

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Concord	
East Haven	
Ferdinand	
Granby	
Guildhall	
Lemington	
Lewis	
Lunenburg	
Norton	
Victory	
Warner's Grant	
Warren Gore	

TOTAL: 18 TOTAL: 1

DISTRICT 8 - Bennington County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Glastenbury	Arlington
Landgrove	Bennington
North Bennington	Dorset
Peru	Manchester
Stamford	Old Bennington
	Pownal
	Rupert
	Sandgate
	Shaftsbury
	Sunderland
	Woodford

TOTAL: 5 TOTAL: 11

DISTRICT 9 - Addison County

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
Shoreham	Addison
	Bridport
	Bristol
	Cornwall
	Ferrisburgh
	Goshen
	Leicester
	Lincoln
	Middlebury
	Monkton
	New Haven
	Orwell
	Panton

1-Acre Municipalities	10-Acre Municipalities
	Ripton
	Salisbury
	Starksboro
	Vergennes
	Waltham
	Weybridge
	Whiting

TOTAL: 1 TOTAL: 20

TOTAL 1-Acre Municipalities: 121 TOTAL 10-Acre Municipalities: 141

Last updated: January 13, 2025